Kewa Datshi… A Bhutanese dish 

Posting after a long long time… m going crazy at my workplace so didn’t have time to either cook or even after cooking something minimal no time for photography.. I eat and am drop dead sleeping … 😴😴😴  

I have two – three recipes in my hand which i have to pen down but due to my laziness I didn’t do it. So today am posting my recent recipe which I had very long time back in Delhi. I have a very vivid memory of the day and eating this dish and never knowing it’s name.  During my stay in the pg’s of Delhi one of my fellow mates who was from Nagaland cooked this dish and I have tasted it . At that time I was not much interested in cooking so I never made it but I knew the ingredients but not the full process. Recently , in a food group in Facebook one of the fellow foodie and a very great cook Dr. Geeta Dutta (baa) posted a recipe of Ema Datshi… That time I knew that this was the dish I had but it was made with potatoes but Ema Datshi was made with Chillies as the main ingredient so I got confused 😂😂 Later after refering to my dear Google knew that Ema Datshi, where Ema is chilli and Datshi is cheese .. So basically it’s a Chilli Cheese stew and in Kewa Datshi where Kewa means Potatoes and Datshi means Cheese so it’s a Potato Cheese Stew. 

This dish is a creamy dish with the goodness of cheese in it. Normally , the cheese used is made from yaks milk but since I didn’t have that cheese so I used our normal Amul cheese slices and not to brag but it was tasty as well . So am a happy soul…

Made this dish on a Vegetarian day i.e Shakahari Guruwar… 😛😛 Thursday as we speak is a vegetarian day for me dnt ask why .. Long story short am vegetarian on Thursday and on other days am a full proof non-vegetarian. We are kind of holy spirit types people ( you know what I meant 😝😝) . So had Kewa Datshi with rice and it’s was yummy and my tummy was so happy… 😃 Hope you all will also feed your tummy with this recipe. Don’t panick its one of the most simple recipes I have ever posted I guess. Do try and tell me your views.. 😃😃

Hoping to get some good reviews on this dish … 

BON APPETIT.. 😃😃😃

KEWA DATSHI 

Ingredients: (Serves 2) 

1. One large potato – thickly sliced 

2. One onion – sliced 

3. One Tomato – sliced 

4. Garlic cloves – 5/6 pods sliced

5. Chillies – 3/4 two halves 

6. Red chilli powder- 1/2 tspn 

7. Salt – as per taste 

8. Olive oil – 2 tspn (you can use butter/oil/ghee) 

9. Cheese – Amul slice 3 pieces 

10. Water 2 cups 
Method :

1.In a large pot put 2 cups water and add the potatoes, onions , tomatoes, garlic ,chilli , red chilli powder, salt and oil.

 2.Mix it up and bring to a boil then simmer for about 15/20 mins or till the potatoes are cooked and the water is reduced to half. 

3. When the water is reduced to half add your Amul cheese slices in it and stir till the cheese is melted properly . 

4. Cook for another 7/10 mins or so and turn off the heat . Serve it with rice or fried rice.  

It’s tastes awesome. See the pictorials and drool yourself… 😛😛😛 


8 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    I have to try out this delicious recipe because the photos are so tempting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. spicenpepper says:

      thanx … do try… 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Megala says:

    Beautiful clicks and interesting recipe!

    Like

    1. spicenpepper says:

      thanx .. do try.. 😃😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mozaa 👌👌😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. spicenpepper says:

      yes babes 😍 thanx

      Like

Leave a Reply

